In 1951, the section of Kenosha referred to as the Allendale district was faced with the problem of having many children in the area with no elementary school nearby. The Board of Education’s Building Committee discussed several sites for a new school to serve this southeast part of town. Eventually, the property where Southport Elementary School now stands was purchased.
Johann Conrad Von Vollmer originally purchased the land in 1843 when Kenosha was known as Southport. His son, Jacob, planted a white pine tree that stood near the school’s entrance for many years until it had to be removed due to an incurable bark disease.
Construction of the school began in the fall of 1953. The original plans called for an eight-room school that would later be expanded. The building was designed identically to Wilson Elementary School.
In May of 1954, The Nation’s Schools, a magazine for educators, published an article on Kenosha’s new “twin elementary schools.” Former Superintendent Harold Maurer described the schools in the article as “truly functional” in their unique design.
In 1961, an eight-room addition was constructed. On February 24, 2000, a groundbreaking ceremony marking the beginning of a $2.6 million school addition and remodeling project was held. This project featured the addition of six classrooms, a new library media center, an additional computer lab, music room, art room, and an enlarged office space. In the fall of 2000, the remodeled building opened to 457 students, the school’s highest enrollment ever. The building was officially re-dedicated on October 23, 2000.